Where Do You Find Your Significance?

“Live by the day – aye, by the hour. Put no trust in frames and feelings. Care more for a grain of faith than a ton of excitement. Trust in God alone….Be not surprised when friends fail you: it is a failing world.” – Charles Haddon Spurgeon

Psalm 63:8 exhorts us with the following words: “My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.”

We too often, by human nature, place our feelings of self-worth and value in others and the accolades of our peers and friends, etc. I know for me, when those whom I lead and work with speak highly of me and my gifts and abilities, I quickly begin to believe things about me that aren’t true. My head begins to swell and I think far more of myself than I should. Take a moment to digest this – Whenever we seek to find our significance in anything other than God himself, we will surely fail. King Solomon wrote in Ecclesiastes 1:16-18: “I am better educated than any of the kings before me in Jerusalem. I have greater wisdom and knowledge. So I worked hard to be wise instead of foolish-but now I realize that even this was like chasing the wind. For the more wisdom, the more my grief; to increase knowledge only increases distress” (TLB). King Solomon also stated in Ecclesiastes 4:4: “I observed that the basic motive for success is the driving force of envy and jealousy.” (TLB)

The point I’m trying to make is if we commit our lives to seeking the approval others, the accolades of men, and the self-intoxicating praise for our work, we will surely find ourselves at the end of a frayed rope, starring at a vast chasm below. However, when we seek the approval of, and find our significance in God-when we live our life in order to be a sweet fragrance to Christ, we are upheld and lifted high. If we live our life in this manner, we are as Jeremiah wrote “like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they go right on producing delicious fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

